Wednesday, March 18, 2009

Newer Stations

Following in the footsteps of the late beloved, Servant of God Pope John Paul II, in 2007, Pope Benedict XVI approved a new set of Stations of the Cross for private meditation and public celebration. They are all events based on the scriptural accounts of the Passion of Our Lord.

1. Jesus in the Garden of Gethsemane (Lk. 22:39-47,54)

2. Jesus is betrayed by Judas and arrested (Mt. 26:45-49)

3. Jesus is condemned by the Sanhedrin (Mk. 14:55-64)

4. Jesus is denied by Peter (Lk. 22:54-62)

5. Jesus is judged by Pilate (Lk. 23:20-25)

6. Jesus is scourged and crowned with thorns (Jn. 19:1-3)

7. Jesus takes up his cross (Jn. 19:14,17)

8. Jesus is helped by Simon to carry his cross (Mk. 15:21-21)

9. Jesus meets the women of Jerusalem (Lk. 23: 27-31)

10. Jesus is crucified (Lk. 23:33-34, 35-38)

11. Jesus promises his kingdom to the good thief (Lk. 23:39-43)

12. Jesus entrusts Mary and John to each other (Jn. 19:25-27)

13. Jesus dies on the cross (Mk. 15:33-41)

14. Jesus is laid in the tomb (Mt. 27: 57-61)

Even if you are not able to "walk" the Stations, nothing prevents you from doing them where ever you are. You could decide to do all 14 at one sitting or you could take one a day for 14 days. If you wish, you may add a "15th Station" -- The Resurrection.