Thursday, March 19, 2009

The Stations of the Women

Ruth M. Fox, OSB produced a series of 15 Stations called "The Way of the Cross with the Women of the Gospel." Something else to enrich our prayer life during this Lenten season and again it asks that we use our imagination to depict the scene.

1. Jesus is anointed by the woman at Bethany to prepare him for his passion. (Mk. 14:1-9)

2. Jesus is condemned by Pilate and defended by Pilate's wife. (Mt. 27:19-24)

3. Jesus accepts the cross. (Lk. 9:23-25)

4. Jesus meets Mary, his mother. (Lk. 2:33-35)

5. Simon of Cyrene helps Jesus carry his cross. (Mk. 15:20-21)

6. Veronica wipes the face of Jesus. (Mt. 25:37-40)

7. Jesus falls amid rejection. (Mt. 23:37-39)

8. Jesus meets the women of Jerusalem who lament his suffering. (Lk. 23:27-31)

9. Jesus is stripped of his clothes. (Mt. 27:33-36)

10. Jesus is nailed to the cross. (Lk. 23:33-34, 35-38)

11. Jesus dies on the cross, comforted by the faithful women. (Mk. 15:33-41)

12. The body of Jesus is taken down from the cross. (Jn. 19:33-38)

13. The body of Jesus is laid in the tomb. (Mt. 27:59-61)

14. The women find the tomb empty. (Mk. 16:1-8)

15. Jesus commissions the women to evangelize. (Mt. 28:8-10)